Our Friendship Lamp device is just as secure (if not more secure due to how simple it is) as your home WiFi security.

What I mean by this is that the router manages all the security, and when the lamp is connected to the WiFi, the lamp cannot connect to anything else.

When you set up your lamp you will notice that there is a FriendLamp WiFi network.  After the Friendship Lamp is set up, this goes away and will not come back unless the lamp cannot connect to your home network, or if you manually put it back into set up mode (by holding down on the button for 30 seconds).

The Lamp will never ask for or require passwords or payment details, and your home WiFi details are not sent anywhere beyond your own router.